Wishlist Wednesday: The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

The Song Rising, the third book in Samantha Shannon’s The Bone Season series, is without a doubt my most anticipated read of 2017.

I first read The Bone Season in 2015 and got completely ensnared by the world Scion London and the story of Paige Mahoney. Even though the story was SO GOOD that I didn’t want it to end, I raced through the book before promptly going out and buying the follow-up, The Mime Order. With the plans for this series to be seven books long, I recommend all of you who love a meaty sci-fi/dystopian series to get started on this one pronto!

I have mentioned before about books ticking all the boxes for me, and this one is no exception; strong, real and three-dimensional characters, excellent story and plotline, fantastic world building, and brilliant writing. These alone are reasons enough to have The Song Rising on my wishlist, but why is it my MOST anticipated read of the year?

Because I have been waiting in anticipation for this novel for two whole years!

Yeah, yeah. I hear all you George R.R. Martin fans laughing at me, but you have no idea the level of cliffhanger that The Mime Order ended on! In addition to this, Samantha Shannon originally wanted to have this book out in the world by mid-2016, but ultimately her publishers (for reasons Shannon outlines on her blog here) decided on a March 2017 publication date.

tumblr_inline_nnakvnv25h1s1v31t_500
Maybe not twelve years of waiting, but it feels like it!

So, my body and mind are ready. Bring. It. On.

The Australian publication date for The Song Rising is 22nd February 2017.

 

P.S. If all of that isn’t enough to get you excited, check out the Spotify playlist that Samantha Shannon has created for The Song Rising (there are also playlists for her first two novels as well).

One thought on “Wishlist Wednesday: The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon

Leave a Reply

